| Author |
Message |
|
Cherri
|
Post subject: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:21 am |
|
 |
| Water Dragon |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm Posts: 68 Location: Leicestershire. England
|
|
MM Guys
Not quite sure where to go with this one, but I'm hoping we may have a couple of computer geniuses amongst us.
For the last couple of times I've posted things in the forum, I've had email notification of reply posts (I always have it set to notify me) when the link to said post is used I always get a serious threat notification via 'Norton' advising me away from the site with this detailed threat notice I know this seems long winded but I thought someone hopefully in the know can de-bug our system? I know Torey used to sort many probs we've had but there must be another wiz kid amongst our ranks????
osa.pl Summary •Computer Threats: 174 •Identity Threats: 9 •Annoyance factors: 0 Total threats on this site: 183 •Community Reviews: 7 Safeweb Share
Threat Report
Total threats found: 183
Small-whitebg-red Drive-By Downloads (what's this?)
I hope I havent over stepped the mark here but it does kinda worry me!
BB Cherri xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
_________________ Look Out.......'Dizzy Mare' On The Loose...... 'To Err is Human, To Forgive Divine' Alexander Pope....Ain't that the truth of All Truth's!!!!!!!!
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Cherri
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:27 am |
|
 |
| Water Dragon |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm Posts: 68 Location: Leicestershire. England
|
|
ps
I wouldn't recomend following any of the highlighted links posted above (I didn't know they would do that actually!!! I've posted this with only the very best of intensions) unless you know what your doing and how to block them
I really really hope I haven't just made matters worse, I would be heart broken to lose my link to you guys and our wonderful school, it really is like being amongst my closest family.
BB Cherri xxxxxxxxxxxxx
_________________ Look Out.......'Dizzy Mare' On The Loose...... 'To Err is Human, To Forgive Divine' Alexander Pope....Ain't that the truth of All Truth's!!!!!!!!
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Elia V
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:31 am |
|
 |
| Forum Admin & Magicka's Crone |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 5:59 am Posts: 8237 Location: My Sacred Space
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Cherri
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:39 am |
|
 |
| Water Dragon |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm Posts: 68 Location: Leicestershire. England
|
|
MM Ella
Phew, wasn't sure if I was doing right or wrong there for a minute!!! I know every time we log on we all run the risk of bringin in them pesky little critters and takin em back home with us so to speak!!!
I didn't know we had a prob with the chat and PM's tho but heyho lets hope Pino can exorcise our sacred space and give us back our harmonious safe haven
Doesn't it make your blood boil tho when you think of these horrible little people who clearly have nothing better to do with their time, who make up n spread these viruses n stuff? As well as all the dishonest, con men/women who prosper from us by takin our personal stuff and money in this way (not that there is a good way to get fleeced)
Well heyho!! Again lets hope Pino can sort it soon!
BB Cherri xxxxxxxxxx
_________________ Look Out.......'Dizzy Mare' On The Loose...... 'To Err is Human, To Forgive Divine' Alexander Pope....Ain't that the truth of All Truth's!!!!!!!!
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Cherri
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:47 am |
|
 |
| Water Dragon |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm Posts: 68 Location: Leicestershire. England
|
ps Sorry Elia, me and my lousy typing spelt your name wrong, appologies!! BB Cherri xxxxxxxxxx 
_________________ Look Out.......'Dizzy Mare' On The Loose...... 'To Err is Human, To Forgive Divine' Alexander Pope....Ain't that the truth of All Truth's!!!!!!!!
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Carmentisis
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 4:00 am |
|
 |
| Forum Admin |
 |
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:05 pm Posts: 5958 Location: Denmark
|
Hi Cherri  Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It's probably just a case of Magicka getting assessed by Norton/Safe Web so that we dont flag up when Norton customers use the site. They scare customers like this and then the website has to pay to get a Safe Certificate. As with any website, always be careful about any links in posts etc. All staff are currently checking all links in posts to ensure they are legitimate. For now, I am going to cut the links from your original message, (hope that's ok) in case accidentally clicked on by members.
_________________ I still believe in paradise... But now at least I know it's not some place you can look for Because its not where you go, It's how you feel for a moment in your life If you find that moment, It will last forever... <----BunnyWunny Pancake Head 
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Cherri
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:41 am |
|
 |
| Water Dragon |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm Posts: 68 Location: Leicestershire. England
|
MM Carmentisis That is absolutely fine. I didn't realize when I posted the origional message that they would actually leave usable links, I just thought that they would be useful for someone in 'the know' to clean them up/block them. I have to say the link that came through to my email address for your post brought me straight to the site without any warnings from norton this time, so whoever has looked into it has obviously solved the problem...yay! Its outrageous that big companies like norton can do this....as if they don't get enough money out of Jo public with their horendous prices as it is. Once again many appologies if I did the wrong thing, I just didn't know who to PM about it. Still our precious site is safe. BB to everyone. Cherri xxxxxxx 
_________________ Look Out.......'Dizzy Mare' On The Loose...... 'To Err is Human, To Forgive Divine' Alexander Pope....Ain't that the truth of All Truth's!!!!!!!!
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Carmentisis
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 pm |
|
 |
| Forum Admin |
 |
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:05 pm Posts: 5958 Location: Denmark
|
You did nothing wrong, in fact it was good that you flagged something like this up. Yeah Norton is not my favourite, I have seen it cause so many problems for people in the past which is really bad considering it is not a free service. Just a few days ago I networked all of the PCs in our house and one of my boyfriend's had Norton on from when it was purchased and it tried to instal on my new PC via the network. Cheeky little program :p Back to the issue, it will probably take a few days to get this problem fully sorted depending on how long it takes for Norton to reassess the site etc. We did a few checks when I first saw your message and we cant find anything untoward. Going to look more in detail over the next day or so. If you find any shifty looking links be sure to flag away. 
_________________ I still believe in paradise... But now at least I know it's not some place you can look for Because its not where you go, It's how you feel for a moment in your life If you find that moment, It will last forever... <----BunnyWunny Pancake Head 
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Carmentisis
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:14 pm |
|
 |
| Forum Admin |
 |
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:05 pm Posts: 5958 Location: Denmark
|
|
Oh and PS: Avast do a lovely free antivirus which is just lovely. Antivirus is always a personal choice on what makes us feel more safe, but I never recommend Norton to clients due to the amount of problems it has caused people in the past. Internet Explorer and Norton are no nos in my book lol.
_________________ I still believe in paradise... But now at least I know it's not some place you can look for Because its not where you go, It's how you feel for a moment in your life If you find that moment, It will last forever... <----BunnyWunny Pancake Head 
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
angie 1979
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:40 pm |
|
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:14 pm Posts: 290
|
|
i use avast and have never had any problems using the site, and its free!!
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Jim
|
Post subject: Re: Our precious school site may be under pc attack!!! Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:57 pm |
|
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:33 pm Posts: 476 Location: Central Texas
|
there is a free program I use to scan for and it also wil delete any malware go here to download the free one http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free
_________________ Riding my enduro motorcycle in the mountains and forest allows me to touch,smell and be one of mother nature especially off road where you are one with nature
|
|
 |
|
 |
|